Mexico City Mission

Going on Mission

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you.” – Matthew 28:19-20

I first memorized these words of Christ when I was a junior in high school. Today, it remains one of the few verses I know by memory… I’m horrible at that! But it has stuck with me for seven years, stirring in me. I seek to share the Gospel and the love of Christ in my daily life, yet there was that “all nations” part… I wanted to stretch myself, go beyond the backyard I live in. I wanted to go and see and meet people where they are at. So when the opportunity came up to travel to Mexico City on a mission trip, I wanted so badly to go!

For years, I have dreamed of going to the people of Mexico–to know their stories, their culture, their lives. To serve and love them. But even more than that, I’ve dreamed of going to see the Basilica in Mexico City. The one that is home to the tilma of San Juan Diego. The tilma that Our Lady miraculously imprinted her image upon. I wanted to visit Our Lady of Guadalupe myself.

So when I found out that the mission trip to Mexico would be serving the people–the children, the women, the poor–while working along side the Missionaries of Charity and a pilgrimage to the Basilica as well, it sounded like the perfect opportunity. I applied and waited. And I waited. And I waited. Finally, I got the phone call–we’d love for you to come, but we need more men to go. So I prayed. I prayed for men to apply, for God to provide. I placed it in His hands. A few weeks later, I got another call. I was going to Mexico City!

Sept01.09_09

So now I am making preparations to go–fundraising, booking flights… praying! It still seems crazy and surreal to me. It really hasn’t fully hit me that in two and a half months, I will be going to Mexico City.

The last few days, I’ve been focusing especially fundraising. I’ve been raising my funds, with each donor giving what they can, and I greatly appreciate everything my friends and family are doing to support me and join me on this mission trip. I really cannot thank them enough. A number of them have pledged to support me financially. A few have pledged their prayer support. Really, I need both financial and prayer support. But lately, I’ve been thinking just how important that prayer aspect is. St. Therese, patroness of missions, never left the cloister to evangelize. But she went to the ends of the Earth with her prayers for the missions. Right now, I may still need to raise $1,000 dollars, but even more so, I need your prayer support. Will you join me on my mission trip? Will you commit your prayers? Please, let me know what your prayer commitment is. And check back here for more updates on the status of my mission trip–and perhaps some other posts. This is all a part of the abundant life God calls us to, and what a joy it is to do His will!

 

Saint Juan Diego, pray for us!
Our Lady of Guadalupe, pray for us!

Leave a Reply

