Uncategorized

A New Blog

For the last few months, I’ve been wanting to do a new post at Captured Forever, but the purpose of that blog was primarily for my photography–to grow in it, to share it with friends, family, and to motivate myself to use my camera more. Yet, since I went back to school this past fall, I haven’t really been wanting to post things along that line at this time. I haven’t really taken up my camera a whole lot at all in fact. What I wanted to post were my thoughts, a good recipe I tried, everyday things… and not my photos (because I don’t have any new ones at the moment), but that didn’t seem to mesh with the purpose of Captured Forever. I do want to post photos here, for sure, but I also want to share that funny meme and what it made me think about, or my delicious dinner I made. I want to share my life–this abundant life that God has given me–on my blog, not just my photographs that capture certain parts of my life.

So, here it is. A new blog, called “An Abundant Life.” This is based in a few quotes that I thought of when trying to think of a title for the blog. The first that came to my mind was a quote from our Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI: “The world promises you comfort, but you were not made for comfort. You were made for greatness.” Then came to me St. Therese: “I choose all!” I saw these as both stemming from Christ’s call to us for a life to the full–an abundant life. John 10:10: “I came so that they might have life and have it more abundantly.”

Life is abundant when we have Christ–without Him, life is empty, or as St. Paul put it in Philippians 3:8 – skubala – shit dung. Life with Christ is beautiful and abundant, encompassing the entirety of our lives, so here, I seek to share not only my photography (when I pick it up again), but also my love for food, crafts, Christ, the Catholic faith, and life!

Leave a Reply

